Clinical Coding in Ophthalmology

In the digital world everything is coded. Human readable language is not “meaningful” and needs to be translated into digital formats.

The digital formats/languages are:

  • ICD-10 for diagnosis and procedures
  • SNOMED for findings, observations, and interpretations
  • LOINC for test results (e.g. lab)
  • CPT codes for charging processes
  • CQM measures for quality reporting
  • RxNorm for medications
  • CCDA for clinical reports (e.g. SCR= Summary Care Records)

The ifa team offers the only CAC (Computer Assisted Coding) and software dedicated to ophthalmology.

Clinical Coding

Resource Center